Write with your heart…

image

I start out writing with my heart; but my head keeps butting in. Sigh. I have been rewriting the same scene for 7 months. Every time I say, I’m moving forward, I think of how much better the scene could be if I just added this or that.

Well, the end result is that I’m unable to finish my novel, and every time I hear about someone who has published theirs, I buckle down and promise that this time I’ll finish. Before I know it, I’m back to square one: polishing the beginning of the novel, because I know it’s not where it needs to be.

The good news is that I haven’t given up. I still continue to plug away and think of ways to strengthen the beginning. I want readers to keep reading. I want them to digest every word, and want more after the last word.

I think my problem is what I want, not what the readers wants. They may just want something to pass the time, or maybe like me, they want to get something out of the book; but I’ll never know until I finish it.

I’m easily distracted especially when the words ring hollow or the scene is not fully developed. Procrastination becomes my friend. I clean, cook, devour romance novels, and focus on the job that pays my rent. I engage in activities that delay me. I say I’m not motivated or inspired, but the simple truth is that my head keeps getting in my way. My heart cries out to move on, but my head says, “make it perfect before you do.”