“The Secret Healer” by Ellin Carsta

the secret healer

Photo Credit: Amazon

The tension, drama, and serious situations raised in The Secret Healer has my heart racing, my head throbbing, and have me calling Madlen every dirty word in my limited vocabulary. You know a book or movie is good when you feel that you can talk to the characters and have them make an alternate decision. I’m on tenterhooks, biting my nails, and all the other cliches that will explain my fascination and abject misery reading this novel. The book is so good that I wished it was a movie, because my head can’t take all this stress.

I had decided that maybe I should read something different, the name seemed like something that I would enjoy. I’ve read something similar in a romance novel by Jude Deveraux (Twin of Fire). Twin of Fire‘s plot dealt with an 19th century woman who wanted to become a family doctor, but no one wanted to employ her as a general practitioner. Although she passed the boards in the top ten percent of her class, the medical association was only willing for her to work in family planning or as a mid-wife.

In The Secret Healer by Ellin Carsta, the novel started out with a 13 year-old girl in the 14th century assisting the mid-wife. The birth quickly becomes complicated, the woman may die along with her child. Madlin at thirteen does something to change the story from one of despair to joy. Sounds like a nice book, right? Wrong! OMG… this author roped me in, lull me along thinking this is a light and fluffy read by a new author via Kindle First. I can’t go on people. This is a very dramatic book. Way way beyond my capacity for drama, but I can’t stop reading. I’m currently on chapter nine, but can’t stop thinking about the book or the characters within. I really want to stop, but the author has my mind in a grip. She has done something that forces me to continue, even when I don’t want to. I want to have what she has. Where can I get it, and how much will it cost?

If anyone has read the book, please lets discuss. I truly love/hate this novel. lol  Like I said, I’m only on page 76, chapter nine, and so much has gone on already that my poor heart can’t withstand anymore attacks. Oh Lord, the book is calling me to dive back in…

I’ll let you know more later…

 

Leave a Reply

