Book Review of “Animal Instincts”

animal instincts

Photo Credit: Google Books

Gena Showalter’s novel Animal Instincts was recommended for me by the New York Public Library. I’ve read this author before, but mostly in anthologies. I was happy to find that she actually had a novel. It was a very quick and funny read. I was laughing throughout by the sayings at the top of each paragraph for “unleashing your inner tigress.”

A true Tigress knows how to strut her stuff. She walks with her head held high, her breasts pushed forward and wears an expression that says, I’ll eat you alive. ~ Gena Showalter

Naomi Delacroix had an exotic sounding name, but she felt inadequate in her appearance and her demeanor. She needed to bring her inner tigress to the fore. This book was full of contradictions (in a good way). I don’t want to spoil it for you, so I’ll refrain from saying what those contradictions were. You know a book is good when you stop seeing the characters as flat, and as someone you actually know who talks like Naomi. I could totally relate to Naomi, because I’m constantly in a verbal tug-of-war with myself. You know what I mean, you say one thing but your body screams something else. You become a wimp, when you want to be a tigress!

The only thing I didn’t like about this novel, and this me wanting to know everything at once is the fact that it was written in first person. I couldn’t hear Royce Powell’s thoughts. I wanted to know more about him, besides what Naomi knew. Not knowing his thoughts did not distract anything from the book.

This book had everything I love to read about in a great novel: likable characters, sex, comedy, love, epilogue (because yes, I need closure), and interesting and crazy friends, family, and exes.

I gave this novel 4 stars, only because like I said, I didn’t know what Royce was thinking :).

Hope you pick up a copy or borrow Animal Instincts from your local library as well. You won’t be disappointed, I promise. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

