Book Review of “Needing Nita”

image

Overview:

Attorney Nita Reynolds is hot for Det. Craig Walker, but he’s given up asking her out. She doesn’t date cops…until a doctor’s call makes her re-examine her priorities. Believing she has a brain tumor like the one that killed her father, she vows to make love to Craig Walker while she still has her full faculties. By the time the doctor realizes he’s mixed up the scans, she’s in way too deep.

Publisher: Norah Wilson
Published Date: Sep 11, 2010, Pages 55
File size: 195 KB (3.3 GB available on device)

*********

I downloaded a free copy of Needing Nita by Nora Wilson from smashwords in 2010, but never read it until Monday, February 1, 2016. To put everything into context, I chose this book because it was a suspenseful romance. I knew nothing about the author, or her writing style. I have to admit that I have found some great authors by taking a chance on their free eBooks, and Nora Wilson did not disappoint.

The novella was a fast read. I read it without knowing the overview, so when I opened the book, and saw that Nita Reynolds (leading lady) was diagnosed with having a brain tumor like her dad, I wanted to stop reading. I’m glad I didn’t, because it was truly a great piece of writing.

Because of its length, Needing Nita was a bit heavy handed with the back-story. The plot was simple. Detective Craig Walker was attracted to Nita Reynolds, but she didn’t date cops. She was afraid of losing her credibility with her law partner, and her clients, if it became known that she had slept with a police  officer. The brain tumor was the perfect opening for her to break her hard and fast rule. They had sex everywhere and in every conceivable position. Nita was also attracted to the detective, but her fear held her back.

I actually liked not knowing the outcome of the brain scans before reading the book. I liked the suspense the author created, and wished she had not mentioned the mix up with the scans in her overview. I give this novella 5 out of 5 stars for originality, plot, romance, sexual content, and great writing. The only thing I didn’t like was the ending, but I cannot advise Nora Wilson of an alternate ending, therefore, she gets the full 5 stars. 🙂

Please leave a comment. Thank you!

 

Leave a Reply

