Being inspired…

“On the whole, stories don’t write themselves.” ~ Neil Gaiman

I have to be inspired to write. What inspires me?  Everything inspires me: people, places, conversations, food, things, actions, songs, newspapers, photographs, and folklore.  Writing is sometimes like a drug; once inspiration hits, I go into a frenzy trying to write everything down before my creative juices dry up.  I might go for months without writing anything substantial, and then inspiration may come in the form of a snatch of dialogue here, a facial expression, a weird walk, social and political issues, or a Barbadian proverb; and then I’m off.

I write every day.  I see the scenes, the characters moving through my mind having conversations and interactions with each other.  They talk to me constantly, begging me to tell their story.  I try to help them, but my pen is inadequate.  I fumble over their dialogue, their actions, and feelings.  I try to help them express themselves on the page, but after many scenes of failing to get the scene just right, I move on to another story, another scene, another time, and another place.

“Don’t bend; don’t water it down; don’t try to make it logical; don’t edit your own soul according to the fashion. Rather, follow your most intense obsessions mercilessly.” ~ Franz Kafka

Passion also fuels my work.  I have to feel passionate about a story, a concept, or an idea, otherwise everything I write feels and sounds like crap!  I have the insatiable habit of rewriting and editing a piece until I’m sick of it.  I write and rewrite scenes over and over until I lose the thread of my original thought.  The story becomes blah, and I’m disgusted with myself.  I have to scrap that story or scene, and start from the beginning.  The stories are better, but in the process, I’ve lost some of my fire, and passion for what I originally wanted to write.

“You can always edit a bad page. You can’t edit a blank page.” ~ Jodi Picoult

When do I find time to write? I write on the train to and from work. Sometimes, I might be reading a novel, and all of a sudden a scene pops into my mind, and I have to write that scene. And so begins the circular process of rewrites and edits, until I am satisfied that it is ready to be read.

“Writing is making sense of life” ~ Nadine Gordimer

Every story I write has either Barbadian characters or is situated in a city in Barbados.  I love the Bajan language and its colloquialisms, they reflect who I am.

Dear friends: keeping in mind my writing style mentioned above, I will try to post romance book reviews on Fridays, and my story excerpts on Sunday nights. My first scheduled post will begin on Sunday, January 24, 2016.

10 thoughts on “Being inspired…

Leave a Reply

