Overdosing on Sylvia Day

Hello Everyone:

I’m sorry that I haven’t posted any of my own work recently, but I have been overdosing on Sylvia Day. She is a prolific author who writes paranormal, contemporary, and historical romances.

This is how I found Sylvia Day. I went to the New York Public Library looking for some paranormal books. I had already exhausted all my favorite authors’ books, and I had nothing to read. I walked in close to closing time and walked over to the Romance Stack. I kept seeing titles by Sylvia Day. I had no idea who the author was or anything about her work. I decided to take a chance and picked up A Hunger So Wild. The description of the book held my interest, so I decided to borrow it:

Elijah Reynolds is the most dominant of lycans, a rare Alpha whose skill on the hunt is surpassed only by his primal sexuality. When the lycans revolt due to the iron fist of angelic rule, he steps into command, becoming both enemy and coveted ally in the conflict between vampires and angels.

Vashti is the second most powerful vampire in the world, a lethal beauty with a path of devastation in her wake. Tasked with proposing an alliance between vampires and the lycans who killed her mate, Vash approaches Elijah, whose need to avenge a friend demands Vash’s death even as his passion demands her surrender.

Soon, their enmity erodes beneath an all-consuming desire. Elijah has never encountered a woman whose warrior spirit and fierce sexual appetite rivals his own, while Vash is faced with the one man strong enough to be her equal. But as war looms, each must decide where their loyalty lies—with their own kind or with the enemy lover they can no longer live without.

On my 1 hour train ride home, I immediately became engrossed in the story and the lives of the characters. The sex was phenomenal, raw, and edgy between the lycan and the vampire. My train ride was over too quickly. Good thing my stop is the last on the train. I only noticed that I had reached my destination when everyone got off. I was that engrossed! It was the best book that I have ever read in a long time, or so I thought.

After I read that book, I developed an addiction for everything Sylvia Day. I must admit that I did come across one of her books that I could not finish: Eve of Darkness. It had Biblical connotations, such as Cain and Abel and of course Eve. I guess there was too much contention in the book between Cain and Eve. I just could not get into it with all the Bible references and hot sex. I didn’t feel that they should go together. I guess it’s the Catholic girl in me.

Sylvia Day’s other novels were hot hot hot! Recently, I came across Bared to You and fell in love with her style of writing. There’s a lot of angst, jealousy (which I can totally relate to), sex, and the love of NYC. Through Ms. Day’s writing I can feel the love between the characters and of the place. Don’t get me wrong it’s not all about sex. This book is so moving sometimes. I usually hate it when people write in the first person, but I felt closer to the protagonist, as I read about her insecurities and her troubling past. The characters in the book are so alive! It almost feels like a movie or that I’m part of their clique. The book is part of a series and after reading the last line of Bared to You, I wanted desperately to read Reflected in You.

Reflected in You is even better than Bared to You if that’s possible. I could not put it down, and sometimes read late into the night or early morning. The material discussed is very heavy and emotional. It was implied that both main characters were sexually abused as kids. Their roller-coaster lives have you feeling the same high’s and low’s as them. You are rooting for them. You want them to succeed even when you know that they are not right for each other. Maybe they can make it work, please make it work, you beg.

I highly recommend both books and I am looking forward to reading the final book in the series: Entwined With You.

http://www.sylviaday.com/books/

Leave a Reply

